Problem with version 5.4.0

Come here for help or to post comments on Sphider
Post Reply
Equinoxe58
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2023 8:02 pm

Problem with version 5.4.0

Post by Equinoxe58 »

Good morning.
I left for the moment my indexing problems that I mentioned in another post.
I installed version 5.4.0 of Sphider, to see if that would solve my problems...
I installed without any error message,
I checked the fields in my.cnf and database.php but when I click on index in the admin menu, I get a white screen and nothing happens.

Can you help me please ?
User avatar
captquirk
Site Admin
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with version 5.4.0

Post by captquirk »

Did you upgrade or install as new?
If installed as new, I suspect a permissions problem.
There are several directories within the admin directory: backup, log, reports, sitemaps, and tmp.
The system needs read/write access to these directories.
Permissions need to be 755 (or 775 to be sure).
With Ubuntu, owner needs to be "www-data". In Centos 7, owner should be "apache".
If you have Centos 7 and SELinux, there may be other permissions issues. See: https://www.svnlabs.com/blogs/centos-7- ... ermission/
Equinoxe58
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2023 8:02 pm

Re: Problem with version 5.4.0

Post by Equinoxe58 »

Good morning,
This is a new installation. I completely deleted version 5.3 including the tables and installed version 5.4. I don't think it's a directory rights problem because I work under wampserver. (This was already the case with version 5.3 which did not pose this problem for me).
I edited the spider.php file with notepad++ and put marks to find out where it was blocking.
My cue is a simple echo "foo";
My mark is clearly visible when I run index up to line 212 of spider.php
If I put my mark after these lines :

indexSite(
$url, $reindex, $maxlevel, $soption, $in, $out, $usesitemap,
$linklog, $ignore_robots, $domaincb, $foreignimgs, $ctlang
);

so on line 217, I no longer see my marker.
Which makes me say that the problem is between lines 213 and 216 of spider.php
Do you understand what I'm trying to say ?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.
User avatar
captquirk
Site Admin
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with version 5.4.0

Post by captquirk »

Your method of using markers is valid. The actual Sphider index function (called on line 214) is located between lines 720-1151.

Since this does SEEM like a permissions issue, and you mention "wamp" ... I take it you are using a Windows operating system. If so, confirm that "Windows OS" is checked in Settings.

If that fails, send a screenshot of the screen where you initiate the index.
Equinoxe58
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2023 8:02 pm

Re: Problem with version 5.4.0

Post by Equinoxe58 »

Haaaaaaaaaaa

I found the problem
In the index function there is a query on line 765: "SELECT site_id FROM ".$mysql_table_prefix
."sites WHERE url = ? "

And there, my site_id table was empty because I went directly through the index without going through the creation of a site. (I think it was possible in version 5.3?)
So I created my site with "add site" and then index and there it works.

Thank you again for your help

Sincerely
Daniel
User avatar
captquirk
Site Admin
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:49 pm
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Problem with version 5.4.0

Post by captquirk »

In 5.3.0, you COULD index a new site from the Index tab and Sphider would assign a site id to the new site.
5.4.0 has many improvements, but you just found something that got broken in the update! Now I have something to fix for the next release!!!

FIX: spider.php, line 844 should read:
."? , ? , ? , ? , ?, ?)"
There is one extra " ,?" added in the line. Will be fixed in the next release.
Post Reply